⭐️⭐️⭐️ Too much clutter

With a great cover and a blurb that drew me in, I was so excited to read this… and ultimately disappointed in the execution. The book starts out on a high note with humor and a very awkward situation for our hero, but as the story moved along it got bogged down by unnecessary detail and subplots that detracted from the romance. There were many times I found myself skimming, and while the bones of a good rom com are there – the actual relationship between Max and Lina was fun to read – all the clutter got in the way.

The story follows Lina, a wedding planner who has the misfortune of being dumped on her wedding day – by proxy. When her groom gets cold feet, he texts his brother, Max, to ask that he deliver the news, saying that Max’s advice the night prior pushed him into making this decision. Though Max doesn’t remember that drunken conversation, he steps up and delivers the news, sharing almost as much of Lina’s wrath as his brother does. Three years pass and the brothers are tasked with working with Lina on a business project. Since Max is (marginally) the lesser of two evils for Lina, they wind up working together and getting to know each other for the first time. Along the way, they can’t help but wonder if things would’ve been different had Lina met Max first.

There’s a definite enemies to lovers feel to the story, which I really enjoyed. The encounters between Lina and Max were the highlight of the book, they were just too few and far between. There’s a lot of detail relating to things I couldn’t care less about, and the continued use of Portuguese at the start of the book took me out of the story. I don’t mind the inclusion of details about Lina’s heritage, but without looking the words up it’s often difficult to follow the conversation. I liked the slow burn romance, but the payoff wasn’t there – their first sex scene is not at all sexy, and things move pretty quickly after that. Overall, it has the foundation of a good book but I would’ve liked it a lot more with a few changes. Thank you, NetGalley, for providing me with an ARC. I am voluntarily leaving a review of this rom com.


Blurb:

Critically acclaimed author Mia Sosa delivers a sassy, steamy enemies-to-lovers romantic comedy about a woman whose new job requires her to work side-by-side with the best man who ruined her wedding: her ex-fiancé’s infuriating, irritating, annoyingly handsome brother. Perfect for fans of Jasmine Guillory, Helen Hoang, and Sally Thorne!

A wedding planner left at the altar. Yeah, the irony isn’t lost on Carolina Santos, either. But despite that embarrassing blip from her past, Lina’s managed to make other people’s dreams come true as a top-tier wedding coordinator in DC. After impressing an influential guest, she’s offered an opportunity that could change her life. There’s just one hitch… she has to collaborate with the best (make that worst) man from her own failed nuptials. 

Tired of living in his older brother’s shadow, marketing expert Max Hartley is determined to make his mark with a coveted hotel client looking to expand its brand. Then he learns he’ll be working with his brother’s whip-smart, stunning—absolutely off-limits—ex-fiancée. And she loathes him. 

If they can survive the next few weeks and nail their presentation without killing each other, they’ll both come out ahead. Except Max has been public enemy number one ever since he encouraged his brother to jilt the bride, and Lina’s ready to dish out a little payback of her own. 

But even the best laid plans can go awry, and soon Lina and Max discover animosity may not be the only emotion creating sparks between them. Still, this star-crossed couple can never be more than temporary playmates because Lina isn’t interested in falling in love and Max refuses to play runner-up to his brother ever again…


Amazon | GoodReads

One thought on “⭐️⭐️⭐️ Too much clutter

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s