⭐️⭐️ REVIEW: Anchored Hearts by Priscilla Oliveras

While I thoroughly enjoyed the light and breezy summer read that was Island Affair, Anchored Hearts did not strike a chord with me. Granted, I’m not a second chance romance fan unless they’re executed properly, but this felt like it was full of the cringey things that I hate about the trope. I can list at least five different plot devices that I’d love to never read about again, and I just couldn’t get into the love story. Beyond the miscommunication and stereotypical backstory, neither Alejandro nor Anamaría really won me over. It may have been my detachment to the love story, but I was not rooting for either of them.

That’s all unfortunate, because there’s a lot about the author’s writing that I enjoy. In Island Affair, I grew to love the family dynamics, as well as the vibrancy of the culture and environment. That’s still a big part of Anchored Hearts, but it all gets muddied by the fact that family is also what broke these two apart. Ultimately, I was very disappointed by this. Second chance fans might find it more successful, but this really didn’t work for me. I appreciated receiving an early copy and am voluntarily leaving a review of this second chance romance.


Blurb:

Key West is the ideal backdrop for the summer read you need! Perfect for fans of Abby Jimenez, Jasmine Guillory, and Jen DeLuca, this gorgeous and stirring new love story from the author of Island Affair will touch your heart…

Award-winning photographer Alejandro Miranda hasn’t been home to Key West in years—not since he left to explore broader horizons with his papi’s warning “never to come back” echoing in his ears. He wouldn’t be heading there now if it wasn’t for an injury requiring months of recuperation. The drama of a prodigal son returning to his familia and their beloved Cuban restaurant is bad enough, but coming home to the island paradise also means coming face to face with the girl he left behind—the one who was supposed to be by his side all along . . .

Anamaría Navarro was shattered when Alejandro took off without her. Traveling the world was their plan, not just his. But after her father’s heart attack, there was no way she could leave—not even for the man she loved. Now ensconced in the family trade as a firefighter and paramedic, with a side hustle as a personal trainer, Anamaría is dismayed that just the sight of Alejandro is enough to rekindle the flame she’s worked years to put out. And as famillia meddling pushes them together, the heat of their attraction only climbs higher. Can they learn to trust again, before the Key West sun sets on their chance at happiness?

Amazon: https://amzn.to/3nhA8jk


Start the series today!

I won’t lie: I vastly preferred Island Affair. It’s a light, tropey, low angst romance that makes you feel like you’re on vacation. Straddling the line between romance and women’s fiction, Island Affair is more laidback than the books I usually review, but it hit the spot as a breezy summer read.

Amazon: https://amzn.to/2XpRboC


About the Author:

Priscilla Oliveras is a USA Today bestselling author and 2018 RWA® RITA® double finalist who writes contemporary romance with a Latinx flavor. Proud of her Puerto Rican-Mexican heritage, she strives to bring authenticity to her novels by sharing her Latinx culture with readers. Her work has garnered praise from O, The Oprah Magazine, Washington Post, New York Times, Entertainment Weekly, Publishers Weekly, and Booklist, among others. Priscilla earned her MFA in Writing Popular Fiction from Seton Hill University and now serves as adjunct faculty in the program while also teaching the online class “Romance Writing” for ed2go. 

Find out more at https://prisoliveras.com or catch up with her on www.facebook.com/prisoliveras and Twitter and IG via @prisoliveras.


As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases

One thought on “⭐️⭐️ REVIEW: Anchored Hearts by Priscilla Oliveras

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: