⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ REVIEW: How Sweet It Is by Dylan Newton

For a debut? Very solid. This light, cute romance was not a perfect fit for me, but I can definitely see the potential in the writing and look forward to future books from the author. It’s low angst and sweet, a slow burn romance with just a touch of steam. Pairing a horror novelist with an organized event planner makes the right combination for a playful, laidback opposites attract romance. I liked both characters, I liked them together, and once I got used to the slower pacing, this romance was pretty enjoyable.

The story follows Kate, an event planner who specializes in weddings and sweeter parties. She loves her career and will defend it to anyone who calls her “just” a party planner. So when an event cancels at the last minute and she finds herself available to plan a book launch on short notice, Kate doesn’t know what’s in store for her. Turns out, the book launch is for horror novelist, Drake, and the style couldn’t be further from what Kate is used to. And once she meets the mysterious writer, he’s nothing like Kate expected either. As these two opposites work on the event, they discover that they’ve got more in common than either one anticipated, and their feelings grow along the way.

There was never a time when I even considered a 5-star rating for this, but I did enjoy it overall. The story is light, a little bit funny, and super easygoing. I liked the rom com vibe and I loved the focus on the romance. It’s definitely slower paced than I’m used to and there were things that I didn’t love, but it was solid overall. I wouldn’t hesitate to check out the author’s next book, and it was a decent way to spend the day. Did I love it? No. This sits somewhere between 3 and 4 stars for me, but I think there are a lot of readers out there who will love it. I received an early copy and am voluntarily leaving a review of this sweet romance.

Amazon: https://amzn.to/3xDs1C1


What happens when the queen of romance falls for the king of horror–you get “a hilarious rom-com comp,” perfect for fans of Beach Read. (Kirkus, starred review)

Blurb:

Event planner Kate Sweet is famous for creating the perfect happily-ever-after moment for her clients’ dream weddings. So how is it that her best friend has roped her into planning a bestselling horror writer’s book launch extravaganza? But the second Kate meets—or rather, accidentally maims—the drop-dead-hot Drake Matthews, her well-ordered life quickly transforms into an absolute nightmare.

Drake Matthews is tired of the spotlight and tired of his reputation as the Knight of Nightmares. He’s really a nice guy! But he’s not prepared for Kate, a fearless agent of chaos in steel-tipped stilettos, or for that sweet sting of attraction he feels for her. She’s inspiring him to take his writing in a whole new direction—one that no one expects. Because now Kate and Drake are changing up the rules, and this plot twist might just surprise everyone . . . including themselves.

Amazon: https://amzn.to/3xDs1C1

“Fans of The Hating Game by Sally Thorne, Red, White and Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston, Get a Life, Chloe Brown by Talia Hibbert, and Written in the Stars by Alexandria Bellefleur will adore How Sweet It Is!” –The Nerd Daily


About the Author:

Dylan Newton was born and raised in a small town where the library was her favorite hang-out. After over a decade working in corporate America, Dylan quit to pursue her passion: writing books. When she isn’t writing, Dylan is pursuing her own happily ever after with her high school sweetheart as they split time between Florida and Upstate New York with their two much cooler daughters and a tone-deaf cockatiel.

Check her out at:
DylanNewton.com
Facebook.com/DylanNewtonAuthor
Instagram @AuthorDylanNewton


Follow Jeeves on social media!

As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: