⭐️⭐️⭐️ REVIEW: Dream On by Angie Hockman

While the blurb is mysteriously intriguing, it also leaves out the MAJOR element of the storyline that’s sure to be polarizing (SPOILER) – that this involves a love triangle between two brothers. It’s a trope that readers typically feel strongly about, one way or another… and I probably would’ve skipped this book entirely had I known it was included ahead of time. I loved the charming and tropical Shipped, so I was excited to dive into Hockman’s sophomore novel. And this DOES have an enjoyable writing style and many things that I liked. I loved that the storyline was so unpredictable, and I can honestly say that I’ve never read a plot similar to this one. But over half of the book is focused on the wrong guy, so our couple’s relationship felt extremely underdeveloped and a little cringey. I actually really liked the cinnamon roll hero, but there were a lot of things standing in the way of me enjoying the romance.

The story follows Cass, a woman who awoke from a coma believing that she was in a relationship with a man named Devin Bloom. Cass even sketched what her boyfriend looked like, but no one in her life believes that the man exists. So when Cass runs into real-life Devin in a flower shop, she’s not sure what to think. He looks just like the man in her dreams, but he also thinks she’s a stranger. As they try to figure out what made Cass believe Devin was her boyfriend, the two start getting to know each other for real. But Devin’s brother (Perry) is skeptical of the situation, and he keeps getting in the way.

I loved that the storyline was so unique, and it was definitely an interesting reading experience to be so unsure of how things would play out. It didn’t take long for me to figure out which guy I wanted Cass to end up with though, which made watching her waste SO MUCH time on the wrong guy very frustrating. She’s sexually attracted to both brothers, so I was uncomfortable several times along the way. No matter who she ended up with, things would’ve been pretty awkward, let’s just say that. Having the two leads be brothers just made it extra disconcerting. However, I did like the overall plot, and I think there’s definitely an audience for it. If you’re a fan of love triangles, low heat romance, and mysterious storylines, then chances are that you’ll enjoy this. I wanted to like it more than I did, but a few things needed to change for that to happen.

Amazon: https://amzn.to/3uW4TPR


Blurb:

In this fresh romantic comedy from the author of Shipped, heralded as an “absolutely sparkling debut” by Entertainment Weekly, a woman wakes up from a car accident with memories of a boyfriend she’s never met…only to run into him a year later. Perfect for fans of Christina Lauren and Rebecca Serle.

What would you do if your dream man turned out to be real?

When law grad Cass Walker wakes up after surviving a car accident, she is flooded with memories of a man named Devin. The only problem? Devin—as confirmed by family, friends, and doctors—doesn’t exist. Everything about him, from his coffee-brown eyes to the slightly crooked angle of his pinkie to his high-wattage charm, is a figment of Cass’s coma-addled imagination. Still, she can’t get him out of her head.

So when she happens upon the real Devin a year later in a Cleveland flower shop, she’s completely shocked. Even more surprising is that Devin actually believes her story, and despite his protective younger brother’s doubts, they soon embark on a real-life romance. With her dream man by her side and a new job at a prestigious law firm, Cass’s future seems perfect. But fate might have other plans…

From the beloved author of Shipped comes a magical and witty romantic comedy that explores what happens when our dreams come true—even when they’re not the ones we expect.

Amazon: https://amzn.to/3uW4TPR


Have you read Shipped?

The two books are not related, but I thoroughly enjoyed Hockman’s debut. It’s also like taking a vacation, perfect for summer!

The Unhoneymooners meets The Hating Game in this witty, clever, and swoonworthy novel following a workaholic marketing manager who is forced to go on a cruise with her arch-nemesis when they’re up for the same promotion.

Between taking night classes for her MBA and her demanding day job at a cruise line, marketing manager Henley Evans barely has time for herself, let alone family, friends, or dating. But when she’s shortlisted for the promotion of her dreams, all her sacrifices finally seem worth it.

The only problem? Graeme Crawford-Collins, the remote social media manager and the bane of her existence, is also up for the position. Although they’ve never met in person, their epic email battles are the stuff of office legend.

Their boss tasks each of them with drafting a proposal on how to boost bookings in the Galápagos—best proposal wins the promotion. There’s just one catch: they have to go on a company cruise to the Galápagos Islands…together. But when the two meet on the ship, Henley is shocked to discover that the real Graeme is nothing like she imagined. As they explore the Islands together, she soon finds the line between loathing and liking thinner than a postcard.

With her career dreams in her sights and a growing attraction to the competition, Henley begins questioning her life choices. Because what’s the point of working all the time if you never actually live?

Perfect for fans of Christina Lauren and Sally Thorne, Shipped is a fresh and engaging rom-com that celebrates the power of second chances and the magic of new beginnings.

Read the review here

Amazon: https://amzn.to/39vc0EU


About the Author:

Angie Hockman is a 2019 RWA Golden Heart Winner. Her professional background includes stints in law, education, and eco-tourism, but these days you can find her writing romantic stories, enjoying the outdoors with her family, or dreaming of her next travel adventure. To learn more, visit AngieHockman.com or follow Angie on Instagram and Twitter @Angie_Hockman.


Follow Jeeves on social media!

As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases

One thought on “⭐️⭐️⭐️ REVIEW: Dream On by Angie Hockman

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: